We Figured It Out!

Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 1 Corinthians 13:7

Turns out…it wasn’t a milk protein allergy at all…it was a foremilk/hindmilk imbalance due to over-supply which actually causes the milk sugars to ferment in his belly 😦 and caused the big gas bubble and builds and builds and builds and eventually caused the GERD-like symptoms, etc. (You can Google those terms if you want to know more or click on the link to read one of the articles I found in my quest…but I won’t bore you with all the details)

The pumping they had me do in the hospital actually caused me to continue to over produce…making it worse…but I am not dwellin’ on the coulda shoulda…I feel soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo relieved and happy and grateful that whatever the way…we got an answer!

I know I could have made this all go away by loadin’ him up with Prevacid and fillin’ him up with Nutramagin formula….but I would have never actually known what was going on with my baby.  And what can I say…I’m persistent and honestly…I desperately wanted to continue nursing my last child.

I was relentless in my search and was lead to the answer.  The symptoms matched Caleb and I to the T.  I decided to take the cold plunge, trust my Mommy instincts and the peace that God gave me and was ready to go for it…against the doctors!  Against my husband…yet I knew I couldn’t do anything hard without his support.  That was so hard.  Such a tough place to be when you both want what is best but that looks completely different.  Thanks to a perfectly timed email from a friend…I was reminded that God would guide me through Mike’s leadership.  So, I sat down with all my notes and tearfully pleaded my case to ignore the doctors.  There is just something about a Mommy that no credentials or degree, no residency, no text book, no experience can trump.  He reluctantly agreed and I took it and ran with it 🙂  I hired a lactation consultant to help me formulate a plan and although the week hasn’t been easy…we see light at the end of the tunnel and I will wean him off the Prevacid next week.

OHHHHHH and this cleared up the lingering jaundice that the docs couldn’t seem to explain too…YAY!!!!

And he will have his liver enzymes re-checked in about 10 days…I’ll betchya now that they will be within normal range…justa hunch 🙂

I have to give a special shout-out to my sister who supported my relentlessness-who understood my heart and gave me so much encouragement!!

Oh and I am celebrating with Dion’s…

and a latte…

and a big THANK YOU GOD!

2 Comments on “We Figured It Out!”

  1. Heidi Hollenbach says:

    Oh, I am SO, SO happy to hear this, Rechel! Not only can you nurse Caleb, which is a precious gift to both of you, but you don’t have to worry about a life-long allergy for him. This definitely is the best case! I am so proud of you for being persistant and for protecting your baby. You deserve whatever your big heart desires to celebrate!!!! Keep us posted…I love to hear how you and your family are doing! Love you!

  2. Becky says:

    I was sent this link by a good friend and thought I’d take a shot on asking you if you’d be willing to talk to me about what you did to correct the imbalance. My name is Becky and I have two sons ages 2 and 4 who were bothterrible sle3pers. The younger also had green mucousy pool with microscopic blood and was diagnosed with severe food allergies. I went on a total elimination diet but it made no difference and we finally put him on nutramigen aa. It made a huge difference, but I always had an oversupply and wondered if that was the root cause. He can now eat everything but acidification foods. Anyway, I have a daughter born may 20(six weeks now) who is now showing the same symptoms, only happy when held even during naps and night, sleeplessness, green mucousy stools, etc. She was put on prevacid last week and I stopped pumping and eliminated dairy three days ago. I feel pole I did with my son, so helpless and discouraged and like it’s a total guessing game. I would love your insight and help if you don’t mind. My email is beckysmarshall@gmail.com and my number is 980-3341. So sorry for the novel but I’m desperate and want to breastfeed her sp badly. I’m so glad you got it figured out! Thanks a million!


Leave a Reply

