Caleb James’ Birth Story

When they had originally discovered his Single Umbilical Artery they told me they weren’t going to let me go past my due date.  Then, when I was diagnosed with Polyhydramneos they anticipated I would have him earlier and would certainly not go past my due date.  However when he made it into the 81st percentile in growth and his levels of fluid decreased-I thought they’d let him come naturally.

My birth plan was to “try”…I repeat…tryyyyyyyyyy to go without medication (pain medication, induction medication, etc.) Not only did I want to fully experience the birth of this little angel but he’d been through so much already….I didn’t want to complicate things anymore with unnecessary medicines.  I had an epidural with both Jackson and Ally and loooooooooooved it 🙂 and would never, ever pride myself on my pain threshold so hence the word “try” that I used TWICE above 🙂

So-needless to say-I was surprised when my midwife (who was VERY well versed in my birth “plan”) told me that I would be induced Saturday (my due date) if Caleb didn’t come on his own by then.  I trusted my midwife so much and all along she has been a  beautiful balance between the overly cautious perinatalogy team.  If she said she agreed with the doctors…I wasn’t going to question that.  Pluuuuuuuuuus…I *may* have been a wee bit excited to know when he was coming 🙂

My midwife assured me that we would do everything possible to stick to a natural induction and birth.

I checked in at 8am Saturday morning

and after the use of 2 natural techniques and a couple of hours I was sitting pretty at 6cm.

I still needed one more round of antibiotics that couldn’t be administered for another hour and 45min.  So we just had to wait.  At 1:45pm I was able to get the antibiotics and then she broke my water.  Suuuuuuch a weird feeling…which made us all laugh…

and then you can imagine what laughing did 🙂

And not too long after that…I was in labor…although it was totally tolerable.

and when they got a little more intense I decided I would try “natures epidural” and get in the bathtub…

Before the tub was all the way full…they were pretty close together and a lot stronger…

Mike and my friend were monitoring the contraction monitor and letting me know how far apart they were.  At one point MIKE tried to tell ME that one wasn’t as bad as a previous one.  He didn’t do that again 🙂

And before we knew it they were regular and 2 1/2 to 3 min. apart.

and after 2 more of those they became a bit more unbearable and I tried to get in a different position in the tub….that helped for 2 more and not for the next 2 so I got out of the tub and had one more…sitting on the toilet (hey…you land where you land) clinging to Mike for dear life!

Theeeeeeeeeeeeen I said “I can’t do this!”  I dove for the bed and started crying…like bawling 😦 I told Mike to go tell them I needed an epidural!! My midwife came in and I was lying on my side, clinging to the side of the bed, holding on for dear life….waaaaaaarning her not to touch me!  She said she needed to see how far along I was before I could get an epidural (FYI this is a little game of encouragement they play with you to get you through one more contraction, tell you how far you’ve come…and then remind you of your birth plan).  I warned her not to play that game with me 🙂 and allowed her to check me.

“OH DEAR YOU NEED TO PUSH.  WE NEED A CART!!!!!”  I remained on my side, clinging with one hand to the handle of the bed and using the other hand to cling to Mike and focusing on the smile I could hear in his voice as he yelled “you’re doing it….you’re doing it…I can see him,  honey!!”…

and then 4 minutes later….

I had this song going through my head the entire time from the bathtub to the birth…mainly just this part of the chorus…

And I’ll be by your side
Wherever you fall
In the dead of night
Whenever you call
And please don’t fight
These hands that are holding you
My hands are holding you

And 6 hours later when I was being rushed to the O.R. for emergency surgery I held onto those words again.  I will write about that next…But I am just looking at this little perfect miracle and not only am I overwhelmed by God’s goodness and amazing grace that he is healthy and perfect but I am filled with an insane amount of awe that He would overflow my cup by blessing me with my beautiful birth story, too!

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8

By God’s Grace…Caleb James Buck May 12th 5:57pm 7lbs 12 oz and 19.5″ long and loved loved loved!

AND THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU TO MY DEAR FRIEND, LEAH FOR TAKING ALL OF THESE BEAUTIFUL PICTURES FOR ME TO CHERISH FOREVER!!!!!!

5 Comments on “Caleb James’ Birth Story”

  1. Heidi Hollenbach says:

    I am in tears…I am SO proud of you!! You are an amazing woman and mom!! Caleb is so blessed to have such a beautiful, loving mom. Can’t wait to hear more of your story! Will call if/when I can ever get my little Ali to nap! Love you and keeping you close in thought and prayer. :)Heidi

  2. Melissa Stern says:

    Caleb is amazing, just like the rest of his beautiful family! What an awe-inspiring birth story. You are such a strong woman, Rechel! I can’t wait to meet Caleb!!

  3. Kirsten McLaughlin says:

    Caleb is beautiful! You both did a wonderful job and you’re an amazing mommy. Congratulations to you and Mike. I can’t wait to hear the rest of the story. xoxo

  4. Traci says:

    What a beautiful story Rechel! You made me cry. Caleb is SOO blessed to have SUCH an amazing mommy. He is soo adorable too! Praise God for such a sweet healthy baby, and bringing you through all that you went through. 🙂

  5. […] of gratefulness and gratitude to God for my healthy, wonderfully and completely perfect Caleb…for my beautiful birth story…for my quick healing after surgery, especially after learning how it should have resulted in a […]


Leave a Reply

