A Little More Birthday Fun/Caleb Update #2,525 :)

Today is Jackson’s “official” birthday! March 13th 2006 is Mother’s Day for me.  I am way too pregnant to write a blog about how much he (and then Ally) changed my life and made my heart know love like never before–I would be bawling!

Perusing Pinterest…I saw the idea to put balloons in the birthday kid’s room for them to wake up to and I thought “must remember that” and even with preggo brain…I did!!

After they went to bed I filled as many balloons as I could with that mini balloon tank you can buy at a party store or Wal-Mart (it’s from Balloon Time-if you are interested!) and then blew up some to scatter on the floor.

In the morning I heard the gasps of amazement and wonder and I was right there to sing Happy Birthday!  He said “Moooooooom how did you do this?”  Don’t you just love how they think you hung the moon?  Usually Dad gets credit for moon hanging but he is out-of-town so I got this one 🙂

With the biggest smile on his face-he just rolled over, stayed in bed and stared at all of the balloons-thinking *this* was the coolest thing ever.  Score!

We had his favorite breakfast and I would be soooooo selfish if I didn’t share this deliciousness with you….and I am wicked evil *for* sharing it with you because it is to die for but it is so, so bad in a really good way!  Again…I can take no credit for this…it is a creation from my friend Crystal who makes amazing, delicious….everything!

Get a french baguette the day before and leave it out.  It should be a little hard.

In the morning…slice the baguette in 1/4″ slices and soak ’em in this concoction:

5 oz. evaporated milk, 1/3 cup milk, 1/4 cup butter (melted), 3 eggs slightly beaten, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. Cook on a skillet until golden brown on both sides. While those are cookin’  mix 2 oz. whipped cream, 8 oz softened cream cheese, 2 tablespoons sugar and sour cream. Blend that well and spread it in between layers of french toast.

Top with real maple syrup and strawberries. Oh my!!

Now…for another Caleb update…

I went in for them to check his heart and the fluid and was a little concerned at first because apparently he was not doing what he was supposed to be doing on the monitor.  They left me on for 45 min. and he still didn’t do it.  They were concerned about his oxygen.  However, when they did the sonogram they saw everything they wanted to.  In fact she said “WOW! This kid is amazing.  Look at him breathing-that diaphragm is so strong.  He is going to run a marathon in your stomach.”  She gave him an 8/10 only because he was misbehaving on the monitor 🙂 otherwise he looks great!  The fluid level has not changed so we take that as good news!  Thank you for your prayers and the love you send.

March 13th is surely a day to celebrate!

Whatever my lot my Lord has taught me to say it is well with my soul.

Leave a Reply

