Keepin’ Us On Our Toes

Ay-yi-yi!! This kid is going to keep us on our toes.

Last week (29 weeks) I measured at 31 weeks and was so proud of Caleb for growing like a weed! However, I went to my sonogram appointment (they have been monitoring his single umbilical artery and growth every month) and unfortunately the measurement was from amniotic fluid.  It is a condition called Polyhydramnios (pol-ee-hy-DRAM-nee-os)…the excessive accumulation of amniotic fluid — the fluid that surrounds the baby in the uterus during pregnancy. Polyhydramnios occurs in about 1 percent of pregnancies. Although like everything else so far…I really can’t tell you what exactly it does mean.  Sometimes this happens when the mom has diabetes ( I don’t!), twins or multiples (nope!), baby has a blockage (negative!!) or there is a chromosomal abnormality (this is another “soft marker” for trisomy 18 :() or 65% fall in the category of “unknown” and that is where they have me. Although of course it is concerning to know that we have another “marker”, the doc is convinced that is not our outcome. He said “we have seen this kid from top to bottom and he would have shown us something structural by now.”  He is not worried and I am going to continue not to worry either.

The Poly-thinga-ma-bob…in and of itself has its own set of concerns.  For now they are going to have me come in every week and check the fluid, check his heart rate, his growth and continue to keep an eye on his umbilical cord.  Depending on the results each week will determine more.  It could remain uneventful or have severe complications like placenta abruption, still birth, hemorrhage, etc. I am grateful that they will check us every week (although I was tempted to see if they had daily rates and I could just check in :))

We just wait and see.

While they were monitoring me this time—I had a gazillion contractions so they checked to see if I was in labor—nope.  But he did say I do need “take it easy”.  I googled that and didn’t recognize anything that came up…so…..can anyone tell me how to do that??? I hear a maid helps 🙂 🙂 🙂 just waiting for her to magically appear 🙂

Seriously though…we would love and appreciate your prayers-

xo

Oh and forgive me….I realized today I have been jippin’ you out of seeing this sweet babe’s face you’ve been praying for!!

5 Comments on “Keepin’ Us On Our Toes”

  1. Suzy says:

    Praying, Rechel!

  2. Heidi Hollenbach says:

    So, you are on “modified bed rest”, which I was instructed to do when I had non-stop contractions at 30 weeks. This is not the most fun for busy, busy women like you and I. After asking around, I boiled the instructions down to: no exercise, no vaccuuming and no sex. No sex and no vaccuuming was no problem, but I hated to give up my exercise. Anyways, it is a great excuse to let others clean and cook for you. Mike will have to help out more, too. I tried to retreat to my bed when the kids napped. I do not nap, of course, but I worked on my computer, which was kind of resting, I figured. 🙂 Praying for you and little Caleb. He is such a sweetie pie and you are a wise, loving mom.

  3. Traci says:

    Praying for you and your precious little Caleb!

  4. […] Artery they told me they weren’t going to let me go past my due date.  Then, when I was diagnosed with Polyhydramneos they anticipated I would have him earlier and would certainly not go past my due date.  However […]

  5. […] It is so hard to believe that 6 months ago I blogged this and only a couple months later he had a third “marker.”  I have tried and tried to articulate my feelings of gratefulness and gratitude to God for my […]


Leave a Reply

