Do it Anyway

Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. James 2:15-17

As I pulled into Starbucks last week to grab a tiny little latte (so it was like I wasn’t really there and I didn’t really buy it :)) I saw a homeless man holding a sign, standing on the curb near the exit.  I searched for cash but had none (see why I shouldn’t have even been at Starbucks :)) so I ordered him a venti coffee and a egg, sausage & cheese breakfast sandwich. I jumped out of my car and opened the hatch to grab an extra Bible and some toiletries we (me and others from my Community Group) carry in the car for such a time as this.

As I pulled up to the man and handed him the sandwich, coffee and bag-I have to admit I was taken aback by his response.  He seemed annoyed.  Bothered really, that it wasn’t money.  I apologized saying “I hope the breakfast and coffee will  help. I’m sorry I can’t do more.” and I really was.

And as I was driving home, thinking about his reaction…I realized how a lot of times, even the simplest “act of kindness” really isn’t entirely selfless.  If I am  honest…my thoughts boiled down to not getting that ewy, gooey, mushy, feel-good feeling I didn’t even know I had hoped to get.  Without consciously knowing it…I gave, if only in part, to receive joy.  My thoughts were proof of it.

But the truth is…(that God quickly reminded me of) that we should give NOT to receive joy….we should give because of the joy we have from the gift of Grace that has been given to us…

To live for an audience of one.  The One.

The Final Judgment

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and yougave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me,I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them,‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ Matthew 25:31-40

See how others are finding Grace in the everyday

6 Comments on “Do it Anyway”

  1. I am so guilty of showing kindness for the accolades of man, rather than for the superior audience of One. Thank you for reminding me for whom I should be doing all things!

  2. Jenny says:

    Ooooh that’s a good word. Thanks for the post.

  3. Don’t mean to get all deep…but, this is such a great picture and reminder of how Jesus went to the cross in obedience to and joy of the Father. He wasn’t waiting for everyone to give him applause. It was for the pleasure of His Father to save us…he desires our delight in receiving it, but ultimately the joy was in the giving grace.

  4. Jen says:

    So true and encouraging 🙂 Thanks!

  5. Ann says:

    Beautiful. I needed to hear this today.

  6. […] beauty of His grace? One of the posts that was linked up on last week’s grace laced mondays, “Do It Anyway,” made me ponder that a bit […]


Leave a Reply

