Forgiveness

Almost two years ago I was bawling in my bed utterly confused and broken from an emotional pain I thought I had to continue to endure. It had caused an anger inside of me that I could no longer bear and could no longer drag my husband and kids through.

Before that day…sure, I read the Bible….when the pastor said “open to such and such” or to answer a question from whatever Bible study I happened to be in…but that was about it.  I thought I knew God…well enough.   I “believed” in God and had “accepted Christ as my savior”.

The day I broke…I just didn’t understand how God loved me if I had to continue to endure this pain by forgiving…again.

I opened my Bible and begged God to speak to me:  “Teach me what you mean about forgiveness, please.”

{Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.} John 14:13

He did…right then and there…He spoke to me.

Through His word I leaned that yes, we must forgive…but forgiveness takes ONE person.  Reconciliation takes TWO.  Forgiveness does not look like reconciliation.  You can forgive someone but until they repent (to turn away from the sin) they are not reconciled.

He reached His loving arms down from heaven and grabbed hold of me…and somehow…made me look at the pain I endured and was going to continue to endure and thank Him for it because He made it known He was right there…rebuilding me.

I never imagined He would use this hurt to keep His promise that He uses all things for our good and His glory.  But…His promises are true…and He did.

I can’t describe the faith that was born in me that day and continues in me and I have no idea how He did it…

I just wanted Him to fix it…take it away…make it stop…but He wanted all of me. He rebuilt me with an indescribable, undeserved love and I can “be confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

I guess that’s why it’s called grace.

{“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you”} Matthew 7:7

See how others are finding Grace in the everyday…the good and the hard…

5 Comments on “Forgiveness”

  1. Jenny says:

    Yes, and AMEN! Thank you for sharing. I needed this today!

  2. I’m so blessed to hear a bit more of your story, Rechel. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Wow! That is so true. It only takes one for foregivess, but two for reconciliation. Our God is so good and I love how He uses all things for our good (even though it might not seem like it), and more importantly, for His glory! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  4. Tammy says:

    I love you so much! You are true inspiration! I can tell you the day I forgave someone who hurt me more than words can say a great weight was lifted.


Leave a Reply

