Beauty and Grace

I have been thinking up my next post for Grace Laced Mondays all week but have nothing written.

Then this morning, as I looked at my exhausted self, I thought of the new skin care product my sister recently told me about.  It should be here any day!!  I will be taking advantage of the two week trial.  I had already decided to take a before and after picture but NEVER in a million years considered sharing the “before” of anything like “before make-up” or “before a shower” or even “before coffee” with you! Until, of course I considered how often we think of beauty and grace together.

As I am getting older…and getting more wrinkles…I often think of Proverbs 31:30

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, 
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.

and I know I wouldn’t trade a single wrinkle or a grey hair (when it arrives) for one moment of the life that God has given me.

If the stress of finances left a “Crows Foot” on the corner of my eye and then I got to witness the Lord provide…

or if I have to accept the Melasma on my cheeks from pregnancy because I carried 3 answered prayers…

or if some of those lines on my forehead came from many sleepless nights holding the miracle of my son or daughter in the middle of the night…

If the struggles of parenting and discipline broke me and left some cracks on my face but brought me to my knees…

Ohhhh and then I am sure that a lot of these lines came from my 7 year marriage.  Woa that hasn’t always been easy…and his several deployments and many TDY’s with 2 babies in diapers….but to look back and see how obeying God changed (and at more than one time…saved) my marriage…

and yet…when I think of everything I want to say to God…it all starts with “Thank you!”

“Today’s beauty secret:  Contentment.  It is great for the soul’s complexion.” 

“God wants you to adorn the world with HIS beauty-no matter what kind of hair day you’re having”

This morning I just sit here staring at the lines on my face and the puffiness in my eyes and I thank God for the wisdom the years have given me, the trust and fear I have in Him and the inexpressible thankfulness for the life (eternal and temporal) He has given me. There is radiance in a woman who knows how priceless and precious she is to God.

Every woman should have a mirror that reflects her spirit.  That’s where God brings out her true beauty!

“She knew joy was one of her best accessories and decided to wear it everyday”

A happy face means a glad heart -Proverbs 15:13

Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life.-Proverbs 16:31

I would love to minimize some of these lines and have radiant glowing skin so long as I don’t have to trade it for anything He has done within. I want to grow in beauty and in grace so today I ask God to show me the seeds I should plant in the soil of my heart.

So after all that…I know it doesn’t matter…but I will show you what my face looks like in two weeks…if for no other reason…than to get the images above out of your head 🙂

“Put on gentleness like a favorite summer dress…let it  be an easy and comfortable part of your life”

Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious -1 Peter 3:3-4

“She loved the Lord with all her heart and it cast an amazing light on all she did”

Click here to see how others are finding grace in the everyday

7 Comments on “Beauty and Grace”

  1. Jennie Rader says:

    Oh, I love this post! Thank you for this reminder!

  2. Noelle says:

    I really enjoyed this post. I’ve been pondering Prov 31 a lot lately,adn how to apply that to omy life. This one was spot on for me…especially needing to see the experience of the year my husband was mobilized to Benning, and me at home losing my mind with a one year old, was really God just strengthening me without my husband to fall back on.

  3. Jenny says:

    you are beautiful and i thank you for sharing your inner beauty here with us. such a great reminder that God uses the journey shapes us and refine us.

  4. Yes–contentment is truly a “beauty secret!” Thanks for linking up, Rechel!

  5. jennmunro says:

    I think you look great! What product is your sis sending?

  6. Kristen says:

    Such a neat way to look the love and laugh lines that just sort of “show up.” 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  7. Jen says:

    Very true! Thanks for the reminder!


Leave a Reply

