All the Extras

Ohhhhh what is that you say?!  You didn’t see any laundry detergent, fabric softener or household cleaner on my shopping list….

That’s because I have officially gone over the deep-end (Thank you very much, Pintrest <—–evil!) and have been MAKING. MY. OWN!!!! WHAT?!?  I know. I know. I know.  I thought you had to be a hippy to do that or a member of the Duggar family (but hey…I am having THREE kids…that is getting up there :))

No-serioussssss….this all started with uh-hem PINTREST (dont’ do it!!) and my hyper sensitive sense of smell thanks to the baby-on-board.  I couldn’t handle the smell of laundry detergent or fabric softener and Mike thought all of the Free & Clear’s left our clothes smelling musty (which apparently baby-on-board likes :)) soooooo I looked into making my own. Found it!  Then I realized how cheap it was and voila-enter my insanity trip.

You have to do this. It totally works.  IT’S A-OKAY FOR HE FRONT LOADERS…I HAVE THEM!  You can make it in a sec.  The kids help.

It’s cheap, family fun. Okay-so that is a little stretch but thought I’d throw it in there for you truly frugal folk 🙂 Jackson had a grass stain on the knee of his uniform (oh well) and it never really came out with the other laundry detergent.  Washed it in “mine” and ta-da! So-just try it.

I made powdered simply because it was faster.  Liquid is cheaper but takes more time (’tis the way) Either way we are taking $.01-.03 cents a load!!!

Box of Borax $2.98

you can make 9 1/2 containers of your laundry detergent (64 loads each) with this baby!

Arm and Hammer Washing soda $3.24

you can make 7 containers with this!

a bar of Fels Naptha for .97 (2 bar for each container if you make powdered. 1/3 if you make liquid…see how liquid is a smidgen cheaper?!)

Baking Soda (I didn’t calculate this because I just always have it in my fridge)

Okay….so here comes the nerd in me….that is $1.74 for a 64 load container!!!!!  Or .027 cents per load!  Liquid would be like 1 cent!

The recipe is simple…

1 cup Borax

1 cup Arm and Hammer WASHING soda (not the same as baking soda)

1 Fels Naptha bar (or Zote)

1/2 cup Baking Soda (optional and I opt too!)

I found all ingredients on the laundry isle at Super Walmart

Grate the Fels Naptha bar.  Take 2 min and is easier than cheese!  Use your cheese grater (fine side)

Mix it all up really good in a container.  Stir, stir, stir for about 5 min. Tip:  I put mine in the blender and made it very, very fine.  Love it!! Although my blender did start smoking…not sure if that is a good thing 🙂

Use 1 tablespoon per load.  You can use up to two for heavily soiled items.  Oh and you can download that cute little label here

Note: Still can’t find anyone around here to actually DO the laundry 🙂

And now for the fabric softener.  Whoda thought you can use straight up white vinegar?!?  Yep-it’s true.  Fill up a Downy Ball 3/4 of the way and toss it in.  Clothes come out soft and fragrance free!  Or this is the concoction I have been using since Baking Soda helps everything (I’ve discovered :))

2 cups white vinegar

1 cup water

1 cup Baking Soda

20 drops of essential oil

The Baking Soda settles so give it a really good shake before each use and fill Downy Ball 3/4. Orrrrr just use vinegar.

Okay….WAIT there’s more…I’m tellin’ ya…insanity trip….

So while I was at it…I remembered how much I HATE my dishwasher or dish soap…since I can’t get a new dishwasher I thought I’d try to revamp a dish soap…thanks a lot, Pintrest!  What would you know…The ingredients are….

BORAX…WASHING SODA…sound familiar?!?

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup borax
1 cup washing soda
1/2 cup kosher salt
1/2 cup citric acid
Distilled vinegar (in the rinse compartment)

 

Use 1 tablespoon for each load.  Fill your rinse dispenser with the vinegar.

About $1.50 for a full bottle (48 loads) of dish detergent!! Or….$.03 cents a load 🙂 nerd.

I found the citric acid on Ebay for a gonga deal ($27.90 for 10lbs which will make 40 batches and that included shipping).  If you buy it at a  health food store you are going to pay a lot and it will make your price comparable to a store-bough dish detergent.  It will still work better but it will end up costing you about the same.  So…you may want to buy on-line or at least shop around.

Okay…I’m outta time today and the kids have broke free from their straps so I gotta run but will post the miracle cleaners I have found later.

Ciao.

One Comment on “All the Extras”

  1. […] challenge at least check your hamper/closet everyday and see if a load can be done.  Here is my DIY laundry detergent recipe that I am still loving (be sure to use white vinegar in your rinse cycle!) Everyday […]


Leave a Reply

