Hi-Ho Hi-Ho It’s Off to School He Goes

In just 1 week my little boy will be going to kindergarten. My first baby whom I encouraged and sometimes urged to grow-up…did!  It’s so surreal, especially when I look back at pictures like this…

Oh wait! No-that picture just makes it surreal that God trusted us to be parents in the 1st place!! 🙂

Here’s one…

Honestly though, it’s not as scary as I thought it would be. I’m not nearly as sad as I assumed I’d be. I’m actually very excited and I credit that to the school that was truly a godsend.  It fits our lifestyle and goals…impeccably!

Mike and I looked into private schools, we read about the public schools, we talked to friends and parents. But nothing seemed to gel with what we were feeling and wanting for Jackson. Then, (2 years ago) a lady came by to buy a stroller I had on Craigslist. We started talking and she not only turned out to be one of my dearest friends but she also told me about Oak Grove Classical Academy

The kids go to class (real class! with teachers! and other students! and uniforms! ) two days a week. Then 3 days a week the parents continue the lessons (provided by the school) at home.

I never EVER considered homeschooling. In fact, if I am honest, I am pretty sure I associated the word crazy with homeschoolers 🙂 But once I realized I’d have to hand off this precious bundle

to a stranger for EIGHT hours a day to learn who-knows-what I started changing my mind or maybe I just turned crazy :). But, the more we learned about Oak Grove-the more we were absolutely convinced this was not only the best option…I honestly couldn’t dream up anything better!  Because of the University Model (2 days academy, 3 days homeschool) it mandates parental involvement…for all students.  I will not only know what my son is learning…I will be a part of it.  The whole family will be.  It’s Christ-centered and teaches them to apply God’s truth in their lives and applies God’s truth in every aspect of what they learn.  It is a Classical Education approach and their mission is “to inspire the students to love learning, to face life’s challenges with courage and character”.

and did I mention UNIFORMS!!!

So, we checked it out, went to the meetings, read the required readings, filled out our applications, had our interviews, wrote our check and we’re in!  This week I’m going to have some informational/training meetings, open house and then a family BBQ this weekend.

Then…school starts on August 16!!!

I’m really excited about all of it. I’m looking forward to the opportunity of teaching Jackson and sorta freakin out a bit too (‘cos let’s face it…he ain’t always a “precious little bundle”). I’m excited for Jackson to have a new group of friends and have some more godly adults in his life. And I’m excited about the alone time with Ally as well as the opportunity for her to learn from the part-time homeschool environment.

The only thing he will miss out on, of course, is the hard knocks learned from the bus…Oh thank goodness he will miss that!

photo credit: quoimedia

~You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart.  You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.~ Deuteronomy 6:5-9

~Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.~ Proverbs 22:6

Leave a Reply

