I Ammmmmmm Wordly, Okay…

Note: I read this quote this morning after writing this blog last night:

“Which is more messed up-that we have so much compared to everyone else, or that we don’t think we are rich?  That on any given day we might flippantly call ourselves “broke” or “poor”?  (see below…wow! so true!)  We are neither of those things.  We are rich.  Filthy rich.” (Frances Chan from a book called Crazy Love)

Last year, right around the time Jackson was watching Da-da-da-da-da-Dora or something like it and the commercial came on he said something like “Mom-I want this toy” and I said something along the lines of “you have plenty” or “we’re broke” both of which I *thought* were true…see above 🙂  but what he said next surprised me.  He said “well, just take some of my toys back and get me this”.  Uhhhhhh excuse me?!?

I am not worldy…I am just not.  I can’t even say I sort of like to travel or have any idea where most countries are.  I flunk out at Kindergarten if I happen to draw “Geography” when Mike and I play Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader (which he banks on!) But I haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad to do something to show my child how very fortunate he is.  Even though I am never fully aware of the conditions of this world and totally take our life for granted…I do know that even our poorest are richer than almost every other part of this world. I also believe that “pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” James 1:27 and I wanted to plant that seed in my child’s little self-centered brain.  He is a spoiled child by most standards…I don’t want him to be a spoiled brat.

So anyway…last year we decided to sponsor a child through Compassion International There are hundreds of kids waiting to be selected and if you know me at all you know how hard it was to just pick one.  We wanted Jackson to be able to relate as much as possible to our sponsored child so we chose a boy Jackson’s age…only 2 days apart!  When Jackson turned 5…Camel did 2 days later…or maybe one with the time difference 🙂 but I don’t know…becuause I am not worldly 🙂 Anyway…meet Camel:

It has been fun writing back and forth.  In fact…in his most recent letter to us his father said “he is not so diligent going to Sunday school because he is lazy to wake up in the morning.” HA! He seems like part of the family!

I must admit though, when we went to Compassion International, we did so to teach our child about how others live, how lucky he is, why his daddy does what he does, etc.  I never thought weeeeeee could actually be making a difference until I saw this video in my Bloom class.  It is true, “if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed, then your light will rise in the darkness, and your night will become like the noonday. Isaiah 58:10 Ohhhhhhhhh go on and go back and watch the video…juuuuust watch it…

So…I thought it would be fun to go to the library and check out books on Indonesia and learn about Camel’s life. To get a little…worldlier…

We learned how to say Selamat pagi! (Hello!) and we also learned of a traditional, daily meal called nasi goreng (described as stir fried rice in a wok with meat, vegetables and eggs.) and decided to have that for dinner…

Indonesian style…sitting on the floor…

Eating with our hands….

 

and then we wrote our monthly letter to Camel and drew pictures for him.

 

We put together a map of the world to try to get me (ahem!…I mean Jackson) a better sense of it all…

and in the morning we made another traditional breakfast that Camel’s family shared with us in a letter.  They use flour, baking soda and mashed banana.  Weeeee used Trader Joe’s buttermilk pancake mix and mashed banana 🙂  Hey…sometimes you have to teach your kids some of the reasons to be grateful to live in the good ‘ol USA!

On that note…in case you were seriously thinking I made the nasi goreng…uhhhhh no…it sounded like Chicken Fried Rice to me!!

Since 3 is the youngest child you can sponsor…we waited for Ally’s 3rd birthday to sponsor a friend for her as well.  Last week we became sponsors to Ludmila from Bolivia…She, too, shares Ally’s birthmonth of May.

See…I am wordly 🙂  well…I will be…as soon as I figure out where Bolivia is…but I am getting there!

“Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ Matthew 25:40

3 Comments on “I Ammmmmmm Wordly, Okay…”

  1. ohamanda says:

    This is awesome! I love that you guys had a meal (and that it was from Pei Wei! Oh, I miss Pei Wei! We don’t have it here.) like Camel’s!

    I’m going to link to you today! 🙂

    • 4buckaroos says:

      thanks so much for your comment. It is nice to know someone read it 🙂 thanks for linking me 🙂 I am new to bloggin’ so I have no idea what that means but I hope I can see more from you, too!!

  2. Amy says:

    You are a champion to the kiddos you sponsor!


Leave a Reply

